Share-badges and username in permalinks…

I have a sort of initial visceral dislike for the way that the “share” button to get permalink URLs includes ?u=wolftune at the end. Apprently, it’s to track who shared a link in order to give sharing badges and promote sharing.
See:

I think I might be able to get used to it, but I’ve been removing the identifier from the links. It seems like a strange privacy and tracking issue. It reminds me of the sense that everything I do online is being tracked even though it ought not be.

Is it worth asking on meta.discourse about turning this off?

No, it had already been discussed there several times. They’re open to a MR that adds it as a setting, but they generally don’t consider it an issue.

Just remind people in a welcome FAQ or similar and move on.

2 Likes